I am bold enough to deal with the Pork Rib!

It always sounds scary to bake a big piece of meat – although I don’t mind eating big piece of meat.

I am not a fan of slicing meat, neither do I have the patience to marinate the meat for more than 24 hours. Not to mention having the oven on for 2 hours in the hot hot hot summer.

However, I feel to the need to show my talent in cooking meat in front of my friends.

So here it comes: My Very First , Oven Roasted, Pork Ribs (that receive 5 stars from my friends)

To my surprise, it wasn’t that much labor involved. I searched several receipts online , and come up with my own version , given the limited ingredients I can find in my pantry.

So there are two steps:

Step one: Dry Ingredients:

Salt, Pepper, Chipolet (mild) sauce, brown sugar and Chili powder, . The ratio is about 1: 1: 1: 2: 3

Wrap the rib in a aluminum foil , put in the fridge over night.

Step two: wet ingredients: 

Soy sauce, honey, cooking rice wine, (about 1: 1: 1), makes about 1/2 cup.

pour the web ingredients in the tightly wrapped pork rib, and marinate for another 4 hours. Don’t skip the honey /brown sugar – they are very important to generate a nice caramelization on the rib.

Ready to Roast!! I used this lock&lock glass pot, and cover it with another piece of aluminum foil.


Since it will be in the oven for 2 hours, it is very important to keep the moist : first, wrap the rib tightly, second, cover the pot. As you can see, after two hours, there is still some liquid inside the wrap:

Be patient for 2 hours. And it is done:

M’mmmmm ,  the meat is so tender and falling off the bones. It tastes a bit spicy, with nice tough of honey. It is so easy to make and it will earn you a big chef title!


Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under "Local" Cuisine

5 responses to “I am bold enough to deal with the Pork Rib!

  1. Tou Tou, these ribs look so delicious! I’m impressed that you had the patience to roast these ribs for 2 hrs when it’s so hot! Soy sauce, honey, wine … I wish I could taste these 🙂 I’ve never made ribs myself, but Peter has made them in the past and they take a lot of work! Nice job on yours, Tou Tou!! Stay cool!

  2. Wow, the ribs look amazing and love the ingredients that you used. First time that I’ve seen this pot, so interesting…whatelse you cook in this pot?
    Hope you are having a wonderful week Tou Tou 🙂

  3. lili

    I used your recipe for lamb chops and it work fantastically too!! Thank you dear, for sharing! Hope you had a smooth move. 🙂

Leave a Reply

