Real Chili!!!

As it is getting warmer, I think I do need some chilllll(i)…..

This time is real stuff – I made chili exactly the same as the recipe on the box:

These are all you need :

1. 2.5 lb of beef

2. Chili kit, which comes with 7 individual package of : chili pepper, corn flour (for thickening, I didn’t use), oregano/cumin, onion/garlic powder, paprika, red pepper ( I used half ), and salt.

3. kidney beans,

4. 1 can of tomatoes (with juice) + water

5. Any veggies you like , I used 1 big white onion. But I guess carrot will work well too.

6. Optional : I am craving for some Parmesan cheese today instead of sour cream 😛

Okay…this pic may look a bit scary, yet this is how it look like while wildly boiling. The steps are pretty simple

1. Sautee beef, drain the fat ( I used 80/20, which is very juicy for chili)

2. Sautee the onion, add water, beef, can of tomatoes, and kidney beans (fully cooked), and secrete packages 🙂

3. Simmer for 30 min, until all flavor blends

Viola ~~~~ Please enjoy:

Did you happen to notice the special glass pot I store the chili ? It was a gift from lock&lock. I was fortunate enough to be selected as their “lock&lock supporters”. Lock&Lock is a company that makes things VERY important for students – I used and loved all their air-tight, perfectly sealed containers for almost 5 years when I bring lunch to the office.

This glass container is called a Borosilicate Glass pot, which is safe for microwave and oven cooking (gonna used to for roasting veggies and meat!).

It comes with the strainer:

The thing I like most is…..it looks so pretty that I can serve directly on the table, store in the fridge, and microwave without making a mess:-P

Yet the lid is not oven safe, which means I couldn’t used it as a casserole. But other than that, I am happy with this glass pot 🙂

Hope you like the chili in the pot:

5 Comments

Filed under "Local" Cuisine, Product Review

5 responses to “Real Chili!!!

  1. Hmm…for some reason your pictures are not showing up for me. I like chili, especially the vegetarian types. Isn’t it such comfort food?

  2. Chili is wonderful, isn’t it? Even when it’s warm outside! I would use half the red pepper, too, because otherwise chili is usually too spicy for me! Your glass bowl looks so convenient – congratulations on being chosen as a supporter! 🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday, Tou Tou!!

  3. Wow, your chili looks yummie, can you believe that I never made chili? I am even embarrassed to admit this…but seeing yours, made me want to make it using the chili kit 🙂 Have a great week ahead Tou Tou!

  4. Your chili looks wonderful! I usually don’t have chili because I don’t like the beans, but this one looks delicious! And the pot is sooooooo pretty! 😀

  5. I adore chili, especially with sour cream on top…but I disagree with LeQuan, I think vegetarian ones suck! No flavor!

Leave a Reply

