Soup Time! Sweet warm treat for you :-)

First of all, I got One Lovely Blog Award from “Cooking-Gallery“,  a beautiful, artistic food blog you don’t want to miss! She is now making lots of very cute bento boxes , and all her food creation is ,…, literally, ART. Check it out 🙂

The temp is going up and down like crazy….but still , I realized that winter is going away, and summer (or spring break) is coming soon! It also means that it’s less likely for me to truly appreciate the cozy warm soup in a snow day. So I made a soup today to officially say GoodBye to Winter time!

This is a naturally sweet soup. As you can see all the ingredients:

It may sounds like a strange combination. But trust me, this is a traditional Cantonese soup. Short rib pork, carrots, and sweet corn (on cob). Yes. that is it. Even no salt is needed. Just throw these three ingredients (of course with several slices of ginger) in to a big pot, add enough water. Let it stew for 2 hours. Viola!!!

I make a quick stir-fried rice with chicken breast and cumin (secrete ingredient!!!)

You then can enjoy this sweet, nutritious soup 🙂 btw, the corn is my favorite part of the soup!

Enjoy the soup and say hi to spring!

8 Comments

Filed under Authentic Asian

8 responses to “Soup Time! Sweet warm treat for you :-)

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    No salt ? Really? I wondernhow it will taste.
    I love the weather these days, feel the spring is approaching!

  2. My mother in-law makes this soup sometimes and I love the broth. I don’t eat pork, but I do drink pork soup. I know, I’m strange :-). Corn and carrots add such sweetness to the soup eh? Not a weird combo at all, but then again I may be biased because I’m Chinese. Teehee.

  3. Thank you for your kind words about my blog :D)! I think you totally deserve the award as you yourself has got a wonderful blog full with tasty and healthy recipes, just like the soup here…! Have a lovely weekend!

  4. Er… I mean you yourself “have”, not ‘has’….!

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    The soup looks wonderful! And I love when ingredients give their natural sweetness to foods, like carrots, onions, or winter squash. I’ve never heard corn on the cob in a soup though. Isn’t it difficult to eat?

    Also love the stir fry! Cumin is one of my favorite spices. 🙂

  6. Would be a bit of a messy soup wouldn’t it with having to take out the corn on the cob to eat?

  7. that is such a classic chinese soup…I can’t say I really like it though. It has a very porky taste I don’t particularly enjoy. But I like the look of it! 🙂

  8. Congrats on your award!! You do deserve it. Love your soup and fried rice. That’s such a healthy meal. I always love sweet corn in soup. It gives it such a lovely sweetness. Hope you have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

