Do you use steamer? Steamed Sa Cha Beef :-)

When I was in China, my parents used steamer a lot : for buns, for fresh fish, for crab, for etc., etc., etc. However, I have never really steam a lot of things here. It takes longer, and I don’t have the proper tools. You know, it is always a difficult job to get the bowl out of the pot  – I don’t want to burn my hand! !

But people from CSN store has generously offered me a Oster Food Steamer. It is a review post that long over due…. I received the steamer late Jan , and finally I got to use them!

When I got it, I was so excited. It looks exactly as what my parents have:

This is a ‘compressed’ version : one layer:

You can extend them:

😀 isn’t that cool ? ! It is extremely easy and safe to use (did you notice they give instructions on the side? )

So I made a dish that I have been craving for:

Steamed Sa Sha Beef with Japanese Yam !

My old ways dealing with meat (all kinds of red meat, actually), is to make soup. Today, I tried something new!

It doesn’t look fabulous. But I promise, it tastes fabulous. The beef is soooooo tender after being steamed for 2 hours. The flavorful fat juice has all been absorbed by the Yam, which renders the sweetness with a salty, sa cha twist.

So here is the ingredients:

stew beef chunks, soy sauce, rice wine, and…..

Sa Cha Sauce!!! A seafood based sauce, combined with onion powder, garlic powder and thousands secrete ingredients that makes it goes well with so many stuff ! I am being very generous today , spooning a lot of sa cha sauce into my beef marinade.

after marinade the beef for 1 hour, I carefully lay them over the sliced yam. Of course you can use any kind of yam, or potato, or taro (drooooling!). Steam for 2 hours and you will be mesmerized by the unique Sa Cha flavor !!!

Hope you love it, my friends!

9 Comments

Filed under Authentic Asian, Product Review

9 responses to “Do you use steamer? Steamed Sa Cha Beef :-)

  1. What a cool kitchen appliance to review, I’d love one of these. I do a lot of steaming too, but mostly fish and crab. Your sa cha beef sounds really good. I use the same brand of sa cha for my hot pot sauce. This is a new and unique recipe. Thanks for sharing, Tou Tou.

  2. The beef looks so good, Tou Tou! I’ve never even thought of steaming beef before. That’s such a good idea, and the tender beef that comes out looks so delicious! I’ve never had sa cha sauce, but I will have to look for it now. I like how the steamer has two layers 🙂 I can see you having a lot of fun with your new steamer! Enjoy!

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    I love my steamer!!! And that looks fabulous to me!

  4. Looks delicious. Good if eaten with rice or bread!

  5. pigpigscorner

    I use my wok for steaming =)

  6. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    I’ve been sneaking around steamers in the kitchen department lately … I’ve been steaming with my pressure cooker a little, and it worked pretty well.

    Your beef dish looks so good! I’m sure I’d love that one! Too bad I haven’t seen any yams around here (looked for it already), but perhaps it will also work with winter squash or sweet potatoes? Mmmmmmm! 🙂

  7. I need a steamer!! I wanna make baos. 🙂

    I’ve never heard of sa cha sauce until now. Aiyah, shame on me. Heh heh.

  8. i feel like dancing when i say “Sa Cha” “Sa Cha” “Sa Cha Sauce” hehe. I have a bamboo steamer but id much prefer a nice modern one like this that would allow me to steam food more evenly 🙂

    xoxo ❤

  9. I use steamer to steam dumplings :). The steamer looks very nice!!

Leave a Reply

