Take It eeeeeeasy!

It’s been a long time since my last post – no excuses , just take some time off ! last semester has been really hectic , but finally I can stay in Maryland and concentrate on what I need to finish !

So, take a deep breath, and take it easy!

I have been using my bread machine from CSN store for quite a while, making around 10 breads !! (wow !!! addicted !)

I think I have a fool-proof whole wheat bread recipe that I really would like to share with my dear blog friends:

for those who like whole wheat, yet fluffy and airy textures , here is the kick: add more water !!

yes, after testing it for so many times….I find the water is the key to make a airy and high-rise bread (no scientific proof though :-P)

So here is the recipe (make 1.5 lb loaf)

1. 1 cup of bread flour + 2 cups of whole wheat flour (it’s not working well with only whole wheat flour)

2. 1 + 3/4 cup of water (instead of 1 cup)

3. 2 tsb of wheat gluten

4. yeast dissolve in 1/4 cup luke warm water

5. optional: 1/2 cup of nuts/seeds, whatever you like. (I always use a black sesame and flaxseed)

set the bread machine on ‘whole wheat’ cycle, add in ingredient 5 when it beeps, and after 3:45 minutes , I guarantee a high-rise , fluffy whole wheat bread!

πŸ˜€

I did pay lots lots lots of attention to my breakfast . but for lunch and dinner, I am being a bit lazy recently :

Bok Choy with shrimp wonton :

I got these frozen shrimp wonton in Chinese super market . It is marinated in ‘shacha’ sauce, which is a bit spicy. Yet it does taste great!!! I rely on it whenever I feel I don’t want to cook! These wontons are ready in 8 minutes , then I just add in some leafy veggies, a quick, easy and delicious meal !

I promise I will update more often this semester! (is it a new year resolution too ? :-P)

7 Comments

Filed under Healthy Breakfast

7 responses to “Take It eeeeeeasy!

  1. yay for nummy yummy bread!!

  2. thanks for sharing your bread recipe. i recently made my first bread and am now hooked on bread making. it is so fun! as simple as that noodle is, it looks really good and comforting. i love noodle soup. i like wontons too, but i’ll only eat the shrimp ones.

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    welcome back!!!!!!!!!!
    your bread looks fantastic! I’ll definitely try to make it. I haven’t made bread for ages! I miss the smell of bread making! πŸ™‚

  4. Wonderful to see you back! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed your bread machine! I’ve always had trouble with texture in whole wheat breads, so I’ll have to try your idea to add more water. Your wontons look so delicious! Especially now when it’s so cold, there’s nothing like some hot soup πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve missed you, my dear! Please stop neglecting us poor souls. Hee hee. Looks like things are gonna get busier though, as you prepare to move to San Jose.

  6. crystinelover

    hi, long time no see. this is great. i love it.

Leave a Reply

