Has the school started??? Not officially after the labor day:-)

Yeah right. Last week is kind of like ‘pre-school’. Occasionally dropped by office, did a bit programming, organizing office and my laptops, and parties on the weekend. After labor day, I need to strike a pose and be ready for the new semester!! 🙂

It was still steaming hot last week (94 F!!) so COLD salad is my fav…

This is my “VC salad for extreme sun burn“….. too much red and orange?! I read they are good in repairing the sun-burn skins!

So I use:

Two tomatoes, one big orange pepper, one cooked salted duck egg (secrete ingredient!), and silky tofu.

Have you ever tried this? it is a duck egg, salted , and ready to pair with porridge. It is a very typical ‘side dish’ for Chinese, the yolk is salty, a bit creamy with nature ‘egg oil’ (allow me to explain this way). It is also used in the mooncake to symbolize the ‘moon’.

Today I use it in my salad dressing:

I crumbled half egg with some silky tofu . Top them on the salad.

As a typical condiments , the salty egg doesn’t let me down this time. protein and VC. awesome. I hope my skin feel better tomorrow!

o..k…a..y, I just realized that I go for lunch first before the breakfast 🙂 So here it comes, a Arnold Sandwich Thins creation:

As the courtesy of Arnold bread company and foodbuzz tastemaker program, I got two bags of sandwich thins. One is whole wheat, the other is multigrain. I love multigain one , it has tiny bits of crunchy grains and not that sweet. and they are so thin!! (I need to have two of them to feel like a breakfast!)

I use a typical Chinese condiments (again…): a salty spicy tofu ( I hope the name explain it all):

The tofu is soaked in the salty spicy water (oh forget about the sodium, it is so worth it!), which makes it a perfect spread!

Toast the sandwich, spread the tofu, and egg. Although I never thought I would eat anything salty in the morning , but this totally knocks my socks off!! haha I gotta have it for the next week!

8 Comments

Filed under Healthy Breakfast, Salad

8 responses to “Has the school started??? Not officially after the labor day:-)

  1. You’re super creative with your Chinese ingredients Tou Tou! I never would’ve thought to use them in the ways you did – luv it! I can totally eat Fu Yu with just plain rice or congee, that is strong stuff. Once again, loved the way you used it. Have a great weekend!

  2. Pingback: Inner West LIVE

  3. tofu and egg together! YUM!!
    wow and with the temps uve been having its no wonder ur loving colds salads lately! unfortunately its rainy and cold here.. so i have to stick with my hot salads 😦

    xoxo

  4. Tou Tou, you are just so creative in making healthy food! I would never have thought of using salted eggs and fermented tofu! I like both the salted eggs and fermented tofu so I will have a big serving of your food….mmmm 😀

  5. Tou Tou, love your mixing and matching…looks yummie, have to try them 😉

  6. I love salted duck, I think I would love the salad :)!

  7. You’re so like me…mixing Asian styles with everything. Hee hee. I wish we could cook together, we would make a great AZN team! ;0)

Leave a Reply

