Start Off the Day with …..Salad ?!?!?!?!

There has been a long-time debate inside of me – whether I should try salad in the morning:

Oh…Vegetables…..though I adore them, can it help me go through the morning without opening fridge ?!?! I remember Aletheia did it before, yet she is a purely vegetarian and she is so slim – she doesn’t need that much energy πŸ˜›

Carb and cheese used to be my breakfast staple:

I kinda obsessed with the protein and complex carb in the morning. Therefore my breakfast is always made of bread/waffle/muffin + soymilk + cheese or egg. If I am going salad….where do I get the protein and carb?

Ah -huh: b-l-a-c-k-b-e-a-n-s!!!!!!!!! I just boiled some the day before. It is a great source of fiber, protein and carb!!!!!

So, after one night of struggling , I decided to start off the day with a salad:

That made of baby spinach, chopped onion, tomato, and corns

with splash of white balsamic vinegar, dill, lemon and pepper:

Top with Black beans, sided with sliced fuji apples, and pair with French Vanilla tea.

Wooohoooo!!! It’s so fresh and crisp, the beautiful colors totally cheered me up for the day! Β It feels so good to finally make a change to my breakfast staples πŸ˜›

It is a pretty simple salad, as my first try for the breakfast πŸ˜€ Glad I hold on till 11:54am for lunch – I am sure those black bean works!

emmmm….now I need to think of more morning salad πŸ™‚ any ideas, dear blog friends?

11 Comments

Filed under Healthy Breakfast

11 responses to “Start Off the Day with …..Salad ?!?!?!?!

  1. what a gorgeous salad! mmm blackbeans and apple, that REALLY is a good combo!

  2. That’s a pretty salad. I’ve never tried black beans with salad, cool idea. I love how salads look so beautiful with all the colours you can use. Although I’m not a huge meat eater, I’m not that big of a salad fan either cause I’d rather fill my stomach with something that will tide me over longer. Maybe you can try to add cottage cheese or chick peas to your salad.

  3. OH MY GOSH I’M SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!! SALADS FOR BREAKFAST = my everyday life. AND I LOVE LIFE!

    Bwahaha. Salad ideas??! Kale with bosc pears and avocado! Savoy cabbage, brussel sprouts, parsley with hummus and dried apricots and dates! Romaine and spinach with chickpea curry and carrots topped off with some fresh fruit! Oh my oh my need I go on??

  4. crystinelover

    very health

  5. Salads for breakfast sounds so healthy….

  6. Mmmm, I could do salads for breakfast and your salad is gorgeous!

  7. I don’t think I could stomach salads for breakfast…I think I might have one too many trips to the bathroom! πŸ˜‰

  8. actorsdiet

    i eat salad for breakfast only when it’s past 11! or if i’ve got eggs to go with it.

  9. Wow…..I can’t believe that you eat salad for breakfast! That’s so healthy. I usually have a cup of freshly made carrot-apple juice in the morning.

  10. Salad for breakfast…sounds fun, and yours look very healthy πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Eating Salads to Save the World: an (In)sane Challenge « La Fille Naturelle

Leave a Reply

