Happy 101 Award & Chinese Chives Dumplings

Happy 101 Award ?!  Best award ever 😀 I am so happy to get this award from LeQuan @LUVTOEAT.  She is an awesome Mom with adorable kids and a very happy family!!! Please stop by and say hi for me 🙂

isn’t that nice ~~ People who have joy and peace in mind can stay strong for all the obstacles in life. Happiness for me is to be appreciated with what I have and enjoying the life as it is.

This award ask me to 10 things that make me happy (in no particular order):

There are a lot!!!!
1. Progress in my work.
2. Chat with friends, or even gossip 😛
3. See my parents getting healthier and younger
4. Driving the car up and down hills
5. Grocery shopping
6. Almonds and Chocolate (oh pleeeease!)
7. Trying new recipes
8. Going to pier one and get some new plates
9. Traveling
10. Taking pictures
I want to pass this award to :
and so on and so on….I hope all my dear blog friends are happy in 2010!
Here are the rules:
1. Copy and paste the award on your blog.
2. List who gave the award to you and use a link to her blog (or hyperlink).
3. List 10 things that make you happy.
4. Pass the award on to other bloggers and visit their blog to let them know about the award.

Okay, Back to Eats.
What’s the most popular Chinese veggies in spring????  I would say ” Chinese Chives”! with a very special taste like combined garlic and onions, are my favorite. Chinese Chives “contain much carotene, vitamin B and C. The volatile oil of Chinese chives is believed to heal bruises and kill germs in the intestines. Eating fresh Chinese chive helps heal bruises”
The Chinese Chives Dumplings/Box is a very typical spring food in China – you will love it once u smell it from the kitchen :-D. I was kind encouraged by Joanne’s “dumpling” creations. So finally I summon up all my courage and make the first Chinese Chives Dumplings in my life!
It’s actually easier than I thought:
The flat green leaf is the Chinese Chives (don’t miss it when u see it next time:-P). I use about 1 cup of black fungus, 3 eggs, 2 Cup of whole wheat flour for this recipe.
1. Chop the Chives
2. scramble the eggs
3. finely chop the black fungus, and mix everything together, add salt and white pepper to taste.  I also add two tsp of sesame oil to add some extra sesame flavors 🙂
4. Make the whole wheat dough by adding warm water to it. Roll it out , put the fillings in, and wrap it. press the edges with fork.
hehe, you can clearly tell which is the first one I made! the second one looks much, much, much better !
5. Heat the pan and lightly spray it. Put the big box in  – about 3 minutes per side.  Then the kitchen got smoky!!!!!!! 😛 hahaha, just kidding. You should turn down the heat a bit while pan frying it.
Viola !
the whole wheat wrap is so chewy , the filling is very juicy, well, in a green way :-P. the flavor of the chives blends very well with the eggs. Black fungus adds a bit crunchiness to the filling, which can be replaced with shrimps or grounded pork if you like 🙂
Viola !
the whole wheat wrap is so chewy , the filling is very juicy, well, in a green way :-P. the flavor of the chives blends very well with the eggs. Black fungus adds a bit crunchiness to the filling, which can be replaced with shrimps or grounded pork if you like 🙂

I really wish you are here to share it, my dear blog friends !

11 Comments

Filed under Authentic Asian

11 responses to “Happy 101 Award & Chinese Chives Dumplings

  1. actorsdiet

    thank you for the award! and that dish looks terrific – chock full of chives!

  2. TOUTOU! Thank you so much for the award! It sincerely makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. You are awesome!

    UM did you know that chinese chives are one of my FAVOURITE vegetables of ALL TIME?! And particularly with eggs! My Mom ALWAYS makes it with scrambled eggs and king oyster mushrooms! I’m drooling right now just thinking about it… I’ll have to show her your dumpling idea when I go back home to Toronto this weekend. Maybe we’ll even make them together! Ha! 🙂

  3. Congrats for the award! Keep blogging 😀 Love your chives dumplings. Look very delicious. A Chinese friend always make them for me. They are very delicious. I love it with balsamic vinegar.

  4. balancejoyanddelicias

    thank you for passing me the award dear!
    I can’t believe you made 韭菜盒子!!I’ve been wanting to make these for a while and never did finally… they’re one of my favorite chinese 点心!!! Great job!

  5. Congratulations on your award! You definitely deserve it because you are so sweet and happy! I love gorecery shopping and chocolate almonds, too – yumyumyum!

    I also love black fungus – I’ve only ever had it in soup, but I want to try it in dumplings!

  6. Wow, I am so impressed! What a beautiful dish!

  7. Look at all those smiley faces – luv it! 😀 You really deserve the award, dear!

    My hubby likes having the chives in hot pot and salad rolls. I like using them as a stir-fry dish. Your dumplings look awesome for your first time making this! I need to be more adventurous like you 🙂

  8. First congratulations on the award…well deserved 🙂
    And second the chives dumpling looks delicious…I never made it at home…but like to have them at the local restaurant…now I can try to make them…nice pictures as well 🙂

  9. Thank you, Tou tou!!! So sweet! big hugs to you! >.<
    I am very happy this week…for a lot of reasons! I've already received this award before, but I'm not sure I remember if I've posted it…

    Oh, and chive pancake is AMAZING! I love it! Love that you made a whole-grain version of it!

  10. Hey chica, thanks so much for the award!! I will be sure to post about it!

    And I’m SOOOO glad I could inspire such delicious dumplings. I am definitely going to have to make these. I love how large they are!

Leave a Reply

