I need a pick-me-up: Mantou Pudding or Bun Bun Pudding?

Remember this week is spring break, and I have decided to stay here to work on my essays? yeah – time flies by , my model still gives me crappy result. That really makes me feel down, down, down. It’s hard to make complains nowadays, to my parents? no, they don’t really understand what I am doing and how much painful this model estimation process will be. To my friends? maybe not a good idea – those who are doing their PhD are already immersed themselves in this pain-in-the ass process and hearing more complains would reminds of their bad days… those who are not doing their PhD probably don’t have to worry about the model estimation at all , and they are wondering what the heck are you doing right now??!!! To professors??? maybe ….yet they are hoping I could get something out by the end of spring break.

I was really frustrated and depressed. Wondering what to do in the next step.

well, I know I really need to get myself out of these bad mood. when I was wandering in my room, I came across this piece of paper that has been hang on the back of my door for 2 years, yet I seldom give it a read. It says:

I am blessed with everything I need

My happiness depends on me

Life is beautiful

My life is complete

I am wise and experience

I have a lot of love to give

I am a loyal and fun friend

I am a faithful and committed lover

I love being myself

I know what I want

I am satisfied with who I have become

I have great friends and family who love me

I have a great heart and warm spirit

I don’t want anything from anyone

Only I can change my life

I can change unhappy situations

I am a beautiful and strong woman.

well said. I can change unhappy situations and I am a strong woman. There is nothing could beat me down. I will face the problem and find the way out. Suddenly I feel so much relieved. I am blessed to be who I have become now, and I believe everything will be alright. Tomorrow, is another day.

Okay, after rumbling for so long , let me bring it back to food. I really need a pick-me-up today. So I made this sweet treat: Mantou Pudding.

It’s not bread pudding, its the Mantou pudding, or Bun Bun Pudding! In China, the Buns is called Mantou πŸ˜€

I got quite a few buns from coco, (thank you!! ) that was really the softest Mantou I have ever eaten here ! after devouring it for several days in its plain form, I decided to exploit its maximumΒ utilities.

So I use:

FIVE eggs (Five!!! oh mine, this is the largest amount of eggs I have ever used in my recipe).

about 1.5 buns, and 4 slices of whole wheat double fiber bread.

1/3 cup of Tj’s blueberry ( I need to recommend this: its huge blueberries!)

Unsweetened coconut flakes ( optional)

and NO sugar needed since the buns are slightly sweet.

Procedures:

Cut the mantou and bread in cubes, beat the eggs, mix them all together and sprinkle the coconut flakes:

alright, easy enough huh πŸ™‚ send it to the oven, 350 degrees for 30 min.

the edges come out really crunchy. and the roasted coconut flakes makes the whole room nice and sweet.

I feel,

Life is short – have some dessert.

Life is short – let’s appreciate what we already have.

Life is short – let’s be proud of what we already achieve.

Lief is short – let’s find that strength, joy, and peace in mind.

20 Comments

Filed under Light Delight, Sweet Endings

20 responses to “I need a pick-me-up: Mantou Pudding or Bun Bun Pudding?

  1. amen sista!! life is short, i want some of that mantou pudding!!

  2. balancejoyanddelicias

    oh dear! I feel your pain and PLEASE call me for rambling and a shoulder when you feel low!!! You can count on me ALWAYS! πŸ™‚
    REALLY amazing creation… like bread pudding but using mantou? GENIUS idea!!! πŸ˜€
    go out for a jog when you feel low, I did it the other day that I told you and it feels great! If you want, we can go out for a job later afternoon! Trust me, you’ll feel rejuvenated by the end.

  3. Bread pudding = my favorite food. Ever. This looks amazing! It would definitely cheer me up. Definitely.

    I am so an emotional eater though πŸ˜›

    Sorry things aren’t going so well, but just chug through and I’m sure they will get better!

  4. Hope things get better for you girl! That’s a great recipe. You’re so creative. Mantou is so plain yet so yummy. My aunt used to make them but she would put some sweet condensed milk in for a bit of flavor, was pretty yummy that way too.

  5. Sorry times are tough, things will get better soon! πŸ™‚ The pudding looks awesome!

  6. Holy moly GO YOU!!! Mantou pudding is SO GENIOUS!!!! Lucky you living so close to CoCo. Between the two of you, a Chinese bakery needs to be oepend!! Or a restaurant rather. I so want to take a bite out of that….my goodness. Jealous of your baking skills and creative ideas!! Don’t be sad TouTou, channel your energy into things you love, people, life…ok??

  7. So nice. Are the mantous homemade?

  8. Lili

    What?! How come my comments have disappeared?!!!! Anyway, hugs hugs~~ Let’s believe this is the darkest hour before dawn and everything will be better soon!

    Bread pudding is Dan’s favorite!! I have to learn from you!!

  9. oh that pudding looks amazing!

  10. Mae

    Wow I’m in awe at the bread pudding. It sounds fantastic! I love the positive thoughts here.

  11. I’m sorry your work has been tough lately 😦 Please do complain all you need to on here – we’re listening! Those quotes are beautiful. Where did the piece of paper on the back of your door come from?

    Your Bun Bun pudding looks delicious! I like to bake when I’m worried, too. Sending good thoughts your way!

    I love your new blog layout, by the way πŸ™‚

  12. Somehow with Coco linking to you all the time I had never stopped by! But I’m here now and I LOVE your blog! πŸ™‚ I’m adding it to my reader!!

  13. actorsdiet

    i love Mantou!!! when i was a kid i would just nuke it for a few seconds and dip it into butter as a snack.

  14. Melody

    Dear, I am always astonished by your fabulous home-made food!
    You can welcome to call me and talk to me at any time. Although I am also kind of upset now, we can support each other!

  15. Yo, you changed your layout, I like it! πŸ™‚

    And oh, Tou Tou, I realize how hard it is for you…but I’m SO proud that you turned it around with positive thinking. When I first met you, I KNEW you were an extraordinary lady, and that your future is bright. πŸ™‚

    And yay for cheering yourself up more with that amazing bun bun pudding. I’ll go with mantou pudding since buns kind of remind me of butts. lol!

  16. Dear Tou Tou,

    Sophia is right. You are so incredible for staying strong and turning this situation around. Remember that even in our lowest times, someone out there cares for you and is praying for you… πŸ™‚

    And yes, cheering yourself up with mantou bun pudding is an awesome idea! As a child, I loved eating mantou simply with some good, salted butter and dried pork shreds (ro song). SO GOOD.

    Lots of love,
    Aletheia πŸ™‚

  17. Miss you and hope you’re doing well xoxo

Leave a Reply

