Food is the Best Medicine.

Before I go into food, let me explain the reasons of all today’s meal first…..Having been back  to U.S for almost 3 weeks, well, my stomach clearly doesn’t adjust as well as my academic ability does. I have digestion problems these days, feel bloated before and after each meal, and didn’t go to bathroom as often as I usually do 😦  That sounds awwwwwwwwful and annoooooooooying . I guess here might be a good place to discuss the problem, since most of you guys are immersed in a healthy living style and know a lot about body balancing.  I searched over the internet and find I am kinda lack in fiber intake. I realized that in the last few weeks,  my breakfast only contains soymilk and home made bread, which contains about 0g fiber. Even though I take onion, carrot, grounded beef and tofu for lunch or dinner, there is No significant amount of fiber in it. It might be O.K if I don’t suffer from digestion problems. But at this special moment, I need to really do some research and make a fiber-rich meal!!!

I believe food is the best medicine. So start with the most nature ingredients. Here is my research result: several food may help :

1. Edamame (whole green soybeans) : 5 grams of fiber for 1/2 cup

Some Typical Chinese Food:

2. Black Fungus : ” it has a reputation in Chinese herbal medicine for increasing the fluidity of the blood and improving circulation. It detox the body. It is “scavenger” of digestive system. It can adsorb dust and impurities in digestive system on its special pectin and excrete together”.

3. Black Sesame : In traditional Chinese medicine, black sesame seeds have sweet and neutral properties, and are associated with the Kidney and Liver meridians. They function to tonify yin jing and blood, moisten the intestines, and help build the spirit

4. Walnuts: Typically, walnuts are used to treat pain and weakness in the knees and back, aid in digestion, and relieve asthma. Recent evidence suggests walnuts may play a role in lowering blood cholesterol levels

5. Pearl Barley: These whole grains are rich in protein, vitamins, minerals and amino acids essential for our health. More importantly, barley is one of the richest sources of both soluble and insoluble fiber.1 cup for 6 grams of fiber.

Alright, enough. Now on to how I used them today:

I used ingredients 1 and 2, with some Carrots to make the lunch:

Getting so much trouble spelling the word : Sauté. For those of you who can live without this word in your daily Asian creations, I totally understand the pain…every time I need to go to Google and let it spell right for me. Sigh, I don’t have a French keyboard!!!! So I made a decision today which would make my blogging life thousands times easier. Since I made stir fried veggies or meat everyday – blame it on my typical Chinese stomach, that I am gonna transform the word Sautéed dish in to Warm Salad – Asian Style. Oh yes, happy about my decisions 😀

It’s a quite easy salad. Heat the pan with 1 tsp of veg oil. Stir fry the edamame first, for about 2 minutes still it changes color. Then stir in the black fungus, adding 1/2 cup of water, let it simmer for about 5 minutes. Lastly the carrot. If you like , add 2 tsp of soy sauce. The black fungus is quite crunchy, and the edamame too, fresh, nutty, butter flavorful.


In the afternoon, I made a special tea with ingredients 3, 4 and 5:

The black one is the grounded sesame, the yellow one is the walnuts, and white one is the barley powder.  Add in the hot water bit by bit, and constantly stir the mixture till its really smooth.  The “tea” is kind of thick textured, the roasted smell from sesame and walnuts is a hit.


Result? feel much better now. Hope feel even better tomorrow.

Dear friends, do you have any food suggestions you think might help? I would love to hear it!! thank you!


15 Comments

Filed under Fushion Dishes

15 responses to “Food is the Best Medicine.

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    if you have flax seed/flax meal, put 2-3 tbsp to a cup a water, let it sit over night and drink it first thing in the morning. It’s a great natural laxative. 🙂

  2. great info to pass along -thanks!

  3. I love your Warm Salad-Asian Style! I’m sorry to hear about your poor digestion lately. I would suggest rolled oats- do you like oatmeal? I always find that helps.

  4. crystine

    我喜欢黑木耳。

  5. crystine

    我觉得你应该空腹和牛奶。估计会解决问题。酸奶也可以。但是我觉得太多的fibre不一定可以。

  6. actorsdiet

    hope you feel better soon! whenever i’m sick my mom always made me rice porridge with pickled veggies.

  7. Here is a list of fruits with the highest amount of fiber:

    1 cup of passion fruit, while at 229 calories per cup, brings in a whopping 24.5 grams of fiber!

    1 medium apple: 4.4
    1 medium avocado: 13.5
    1 medium banana: 3.1
    1 cup blackberries 7.6
    1 medium Asian pear: 9.9

    Hope that helps! 😀

  8. 我喜欢黑木耳。–> Me too! But I can’t find it around here…so sad. I love it in stir-fried noodles and other vegetables.
    I hope you feel better soon, too!

  9. OH. MY. GOSH.

    YOU CONNECT WITH THE ASIAN FOODIE LOVE IN ME.

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TOUTOU ROCKS MY WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    BLACK FUNGUS RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Can you see what makes me excited?!

    Lots of love- FEEL BETTER SOON!!!!!

    Aletheia

  10. Pingback: Almond Milk, and Fiber-Rich Warm Salad « Light Delight with TouTou

  11. Pingback: Out of the Box! « Tall Ice Coffee

  12. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

Leave a Reply

