Finally I make something “pickled”!! A Korean/Chinese Style Pickled Radish, and Applebee’s New Menu item trial

The first week coming back has been crazy…but so far so good. Catching up with friends give me excellent excuse of dinning out….although my stomach is kinda satiated from all the authentic Chinese food at home. I am a bit slacking in cooking at home…but totally open to lunch or dinner outside. obviously my belly is calling for some variety….Dinning out always ends up with food replication or recreation at home for me šŸ˜›

My friend and I went to a small but cozy family style KoreanĀ restaurant. As a big fan of kimchi appetizers, as always, my appetite is totally flared up. Man. how come I become ready in front of food so quickly even though I know I just gained several pounds at home (don’t ask me how much, I am not dare to weigh myself yet!!! haha)

I can barely turn my eyes away from a small plates of sweet and sour radish. it’s pretty light, not as its spicy companions. it suddenly reminds me of the traditional pickle radish in China. Our pickled radish is normally darker than this one, and saltier. This one is sweeter. Can I make some at home and have little bit every now and then?

pickled stuff always sounds intimidatingĀ to me due to its complex procedure. But somehow I have the confidence that this one gonna be really easy. So if you got some radish and happen to have whiteĀ vinegarĀ at home, this recipe is for you!!!

cute it into desirable size.

Procedures:

1. about 1/4 cup of salt, rub into the cubed radish, and wait for about 15 min till the excess water comes out of the radish.

2. Mix in 1/4 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of white Balsamic vinegar (which also adds a bit sweetness).

3. Store in the fridge over night.

Ready to eat!! it’s surprisingly fresh, light, slightly sweet and sour. Like its delicate taste. It’s such a wonderful accompany for dinner table šŸ˜€

The other day my previous roommate come back to U.S from Japan. She obviously miss American food!! Since she already have hamburger and Chipolet Ā , we decided to give Applebee’s a try since in that way, she would have much more varieties to choose from. Applebee has some new menu items that look really enticing…..

Spicy Shrimp Diavolo

the waitress is impressed how I correctly pronounced D-I-A-V-O-L-O as a Asian NOT born in America. Ā I have absolutely no idea of what does that word mean. but I am always over-adventurous in trying out new items on the menu. this one is no exception.

So I do some research later:

Fra Diavolo (Italian for “Brother Devil”) is the name given to a spicy sauce for pasta or seafood. Most versions are tomato-based and use chili peppers for spice, but the term is also used for sauces that include no tomato, or that use cayenne or other forms of pepper. According to chef Mario Batali, the spicy sauce is an Italian-American creation and is rarely served in Italy.

Yupp! that’s exactly the sauce I had in that pasta. The shrimp was grilled to its perfection, and theĀ chunksĀ of fresh tomatoes gives lots of surprise!!! it’s been a long time since I had pasta. This one definitely rocks. Perfect portion if you decide in the beginning to have some dessert.

maybe I kinda frightened my friend’s with my tolerance level of sweetness. But May I recommend this triple chocolate melt down to my dear blog friends if you need to impress your accompany the sweet endings :

Chocolate lava (not that sweet but very chocolaty), chocolate cake, and melting hot chocolate that flowing out of the chocolate mountain. Ā Sided with icecream, the bipolar temperature of two sweets just make the ending conversation sweeter and warmer !!!

Life is short, so have some dessert.

9 Comments

Filed under "Local" Cuisine, Authentic Asian, Light Delight, Sweet Endings

9 responses to “Finally I make something “pickled”!! A Korean/Chinese Style Pickled Radish, and Applebee’s New Menu item trial

  1. I’ve never had pickled radish before! I’m guessing it softens the flavor of the radish?

  2. balancejoyanddelicias

    mmmm….. you’ve got some yummy food out there!
    we dine out together!!! šŸ˜€

  3. Hey girl!! Glad you back to blogging!! šŸ™‚

  4. oh my, that dessert looks way too good! šŸ™‚

  5. crystine

    yummy. when you bring me to there.

  6. Hey sweetie!!! Omg Im so glad you stopped by my site! I miss ya! Love the pickeled radishes. I love pickeled anything (I love the salty flavor) So good! Also that shrimp and dessert looks amazing. I hope you have a fabulous day sweetie!

  7. Yay! Glad you indulged in something NOT asian. lol.

  8. actorsdiet

    thanks for the radish recipe! reminds me of home. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

