Ho Ho Ho…. I am back! Merry X’mas Everybody! Shepherds Pie and Gingerbread Coffee Bread (wait, there are two bread in that name!)

Where did I go??? Nowhere.

How come you are so slacking in posting??? No idea.

hehe Just being lazy, and overwhelmed by all the parties, friends gathering, AND enjoy the first X’mas that I officially celebrated in the U.S!!!   alright…I will catch up , yah!

The average weight American gains during the holiday season is 10 pounds…well, mine is 2.5 pounds…(could you please not count that new year party??) :-p . But who can resist the temptation of the aroma in the holiday kitchen ? M’m , just can’t wait to talk about foooood !

The Shepherds Pie is my secrete weapon 😀 So for the holiday dinner, it is irreplaceable !!!

The dish is so easy to make, yet the presentation and the flavor definitely stand out in the dinning table!!

Ingredients:

1. half pound of grounded beef (I use 75% lean – oh come on , its holiday, we need a bit nice flavors that comes out of that fat 😀 ) I didn’t use lamb  – if you could find them! there are two things that I can never find in our local super market : one is duck (oh I miss it!), the other is lamb….

2. 1 big yellow onion , diced. carrot , diced; 2 Russel potatoes.

3.  Soysauce, TJ’s grill seasoning, 2 tsp of butter, milk, pinch salt.

4. optional: I use some edamame – if that’s your favorite bean 😀

Here is how:

1. Brown the onion, and then sautéed the beef , carrot, edamame.

2. add 1 cup of water, and 3 tsp of soysauce, bring it to simmer for about 20 min…until you couldn’t resist the aroma ….

3. in the mean time, make the mashed potatoes.

Put the sauteed beef into a dish pan, gently press them. It will release lots of juice when it is baked in the oven. if you do not press it ……the juice will pops out and ruin the presentation of the potatoes ….

For the mashed potato, do it your own way 😀 I mashed them with 2 tsp of butter, and 1/4 of soymilk, pinch salt.  oh yeah and 2 tsp of real mayo.  haha….I am letting myself go a bit these days….

spread the mashed potato on the dish, scoop by scoop, and make some fancy edges 😛 so it has some brownish spot when it comes out of the oven.

alright, last step :

oven, broil, for about 20 minutes.

Smells so good….but I have to wait until the party to eat them!

Gingerbread Coffee Bread

“TJ now has a Gingerbread coffee for you and your family to celebrate this wonderful holidays….”

right after heard it on the radio, we went straight to the TJ and get this Gingerbread coffee !! I had tried it Penera bread and Starbucks,  and instantly enlisted it in my favorite hot drinks 😀 well you know that I am not a big fiend of coffee. maybe I am attracted by the gingerbread!!!!

Despite my limited tolerance level of caffeine, I can’t help brew 4 cups of this ginger bread coffee….I shared with my roommate who is so confused “I bet you got insomnia before you finish that big jar….” well. words taken. I stopped after one cup. and make the rest into a gingerbread coffee bread 😀

I have absolutely NO recipe to follow…its just the spur of the moment. I pour 2 cup of Gingerbread coffee into 3 cups of self rising flours, and literate amount of black rice and barleys. I find that putting barleys and black rice into the bread is a great idea to add some crunchiness.

I Knead the dough pretty hard and extreme patient 😀 bake them in the 350 oven for about 30 minutes. it surprise me when it comes out as a “bread”!!! I was intentionally make them into biscotti . shhhh….

Hey ! that’s very Gingerbread !!!!  Enjoy!

and I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday!!!

12 Comments

Filed under "Local" Cuisine

12 responses to “Ho Ho Ho…. I am back! Merry X’mas Everybody! Shepherds Pie and Gingerbread Coffee Bread (wait, there are two bread in that name!)

  1. Glad to have you back 🙂

    The shepard’s pie looks delicious!

  2. Welcome back, Weitou! 🙂 I think it’s perfectly excusable from time to time to fall behind and get caught up on actually living life instead of blogging about it all the time, right? 🙂 Fancy edges – What a neat trick with the mashed potatoes! Will have to keep that tip in mind. Did your bread actually taste like gingerbread coffee? I can’t imagine it without any sugar though…!

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    you’re finally back!!! I thought you were back in shanghai! Glad you’re having great time in US celebrating Christmas! That shapard pie looks amazing, you should cook for me when I come back 😉 (i’ve lost all my cooking skills already)

  4. yey! welcome back!! I loved reading your post! Your shepards pie looks so fanastic. Great photos girl! and that coffee makes me want to run out to TJs now!! Good jbon the bread. Im always impressed when people can make a bread spur of the moment. Great job!! It looks fantastic. I hope you have a great night and a wonderful holiday!

  5. I just bought that gingerbread coffee from TJ’s after trying it as one of their samples – I love it!

  6. crystine

    i like that pie. the bread is nice too.

  7. that bread recipe is so interesting!

  8. YAy you’re back! And I can’t wait to meet you!
    Oh, and the shepherds pie looks AMAZING! love that ethereal mashed potato topping!

  9. Hello
    I like both recipes of shepherds pie and ginger bread coffee bread.I think its something new recipe and I will definitely try this recipe as I like to cook new recipe.Thank you very much for such new recipes.

  10. I love gingerbread coffee too. So yummy! Love the idea of putting it in bread

Leave a Reply

